Valentines Day!

oh la la

Valentines Day is a holiday from what I learned in past years that is a love hate holiday…more people hate it rather than love it. More people dislike it for more than one reason but the underlying reason is because of being alone and not having anyone to share that day with. The thought really sucks when you think  about it like that. The thought of being alone is one that we lonely people wish not to have and the last thing that we need is for some holiday to remind us that we are alone. On the other hand this holiday is brilliant for stores and candy sales. This is yet another holiday in which people buy their loved ones something that they really want and like to show their appreciation and love for one another. This time of year they get to jack up the prices on, teddy bears, shoes and everything else that is super common on this day of loooove. Why do some people go all out for a day that some see as a pointless day?

First things first… where did the thought of Valentines Day even come from? Do people even know or care for that matter or has the way of the world just changed the meaning of every holiday by making it about material things? St. Valentine’s Day began as a liturgical celebration of one or more early Christian saints named Valentinus.The most popular associated with Saint Valentine was that he was jailed for performing weddings for soldiers who were forbidden to marry and for ministering to Christians during his imprisonment. Legend states that before his execution he wrote a letter “from your Valentine” as a farewell. Awww isn’t that special. Unless you really do research on the history of valentines day you would never really know the origin or if all because you never here or see anything about this holiday. For most they see it as a day just like any other. Nothing really makes this day special. I asked a few people the same question, ” how do you feel about valentines day?” Most of the answers went something like this, ” I don’t see what is so special about this day, why should I show the person I love that I love them today by buying them a gift when that is something that I am supposed to do everyday.”  That statement came from both the single people and those involved with someone. Others gave chummy answers like, it just just nice to show that person in an even more special way today that you love them or care about them. Both are completely understand able. Now I had another question, Is Valentines Day more about the girl or the guy?

heart hug

Personally, I thought that Valentines Day was more about the girl than the guy. Call me selfish but that is just what I thought. When I asked some of my friends this question they said a while ago it was mainly about the girl but now things are changing and it should be something like an even exchange. While guys might do more for the girl they are seeing but it is nice and makes your guy feel special to know that his happiness was something that you thought about. The slightest bit of appreciation that you can show to him will mean so much to him. I was shocked to find out that most people that I asked thought like that. Not only was that the answer but I even saw a lot of posts on instagram of different things girls were doing for their men. I learn something new everyday. Who do you think Valentines Day is for?!

Leave a comment